Friday Favorites: Everyday moments edition

Today is Friday! As always, I am linking up with AndreaErika and Narci for Friday Favorites.

  
FAVORITE ONE:

Birthday cake!!! My mom baked me one of my very favorite cakes and clearly I was so excited to dig in, I wasn’t willing to wait to photograph it 😉 

  
It is so good I decided to share the recipe ( it is a perfect choice for Easter festivities).

Hummingbird Cake:

3 cups unsifted flour

2 cups sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 large eggs, beaten

3/4 cups vegetable oil

 1 and 3/4 cups mashed ripe bananas ( approximately two)

8 ounces crushed pineapple

1 cup chopped pecans

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/2 cups coconut, shredded

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour 3 ( 9-inch) round cake pans. In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add eggs and vegetable oil, stirring until dry ingredients are moistened. Do not beat. Stir in banana, pineapple with juice, pecans nod vanilla. Divide batter among 3 cake pans and bake 25 to 30 minutes. Cool in pans 10 minutes, then invert and let cool completely. Frost with cream cheese frosting, then cover with coconut. Enjoy!!!!

Favorite Two:

Sweet grandparent moments. One of the greatest gifts my own grandparents gave me was incorporating me into their lives during visits versus catering to me with special activities. “Helping” them was always a highlight and those memories are still held close even though they are long gone. It is wonderful to see my parents carry on those traditions with Julia. Everyday moments are often the sweetest.

  
Dad teaching Julia

 how to knead bread dough. 

  And helping Grandma at the store. Okay, as evidenced by the cart, *some* catering takes place!

Favorite Three:

Making the best of a situation. After temperatures in the 50s and 60s for weeks on end with our snow long gone, we had a snowstorm yesterday. Disappointing for sure as I’m ready for spring and pretty over winter. But seeing this made it impossible to not smile: 

  
Hope everyone has a wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

