What’s Up Wednesday

Time to take a slug of Gatorade, do some stretches and then jump into  the marathon that is What’s Up Wednesday. It is a link up, the last Wednesdsy of every month with ShaySheaffer and Melissa.


What We’re Eating This Week:


We kicked off the week with yummy French Toast topped with seasonal fruit. Well MOST of us thought it was yummy. Little Miss refused to eat it and only ate wanted the blueberries. Sigh.  On Monday I slow cooked ribs in our oven– they were fall of the bone delicious but what was I thinking running our oven all afternoon on such a hot day!?! I paired it with a nice cool corn and black bean salad  so at least my side dish was sensible! Yesterday we celebrated ‘ Taco Tuesday with AWESOME Barbacoa tacos, I found the recipe on Jenny Collier’s blog. You can find it Here. Love that it required my crock pot and not my oven! Tonight I am making a broccoli pasta. Tomorrow we’re doing leftovers and then it is the weekend and I will be off the hook!

What I’m Reminiscing About:

That I no longer have a ‘baby’ she is all toddler! The ‘on this day’ feature of Facebook which is one of my first things to check in the morning pretty much guarantees tears in my coffee on the daily. This blurry pic is today’s ‘on this day’.


What I’m Loving:

All of the usual summer stuff. Grilling out. Fireflies. Our flower beds flourishing. Watching Miss J negotiate a Popsicle. All the fresh fruits and vegetables that are available ( especially ones from my parents’ extensive garden). 

What We’ve Been Up To: 

When your house is 80 years old, there is ALWAYS something to do. We’re in the midst of a bunch of household projects. 

What I’m Dreading:

Dread is a strong word so maybe doesn’t quite apply here but I am certainly nervous about being the liturgist at church twice during the month of August. I keep imagining a dry throat that will cause me to croak out the lesson. But what I have found is that the things in life that challenge me out of my comfort zone usually end up being the most rewarding. And how am I going to teach my little girl to be brave if I don’t go brave things!?!

What I’m Working On:

Planning  Miss J’s birthday party. We have settled on a puppy theme.   I have found lots of cute ideas on Pinterest and have some ideas of my own that I am excited about. My husband finds it a bit ridiculous that I am so deep in party planning in July when her birthday is in October! 

What I’m Excited About:

I am excited that our family is in charge of one of our church’s family movie nights in August. I think it’ll be a fun way to serve. 

What I’m Watching/Reading:


I just finished The Good Girl which was suspenseful and engaging. I also finished Winter Street which I loved– I highly recommend reading a book set during theChristmas  season during a record heat spell. I’m currently reading Curtis Sittenfeld’s book Eligible which is a modern rebelling of one of my all time favorite books, Pride & Prejudice. Sittenfeld’s version is set in Cinncinatti of all places. I am only 100 pages in but am so far enjoying it! 


And I have been sucked into big Brother! Between that and The Bachelorette my TV schedule is pretty full!

What I’m Listening To:

Dorkily have been enjoying the Hamilton musical station on Pandora. Love it! 

What I’m Wearing:

Nothing fashionable! Too hot and too deep in toddlerdom! Lots of shorts, sandals, Toms and sleeveless tops. 

What I’m Doing This Weekend:

I am super excited about the weekend because we’re getting together with my childhood friend who lives in California. I haven’t seen her in 2 years which is a really long stretch for us. We’ll be meeting her foster son for the first time which makes it even more exciting! 

What I’m Looking Forward To Next Month:

Typically I take my stepson up to Door County for a special trip ‘ just the two of us’. But of course now it is the ‘3 of us with Miss J’. We go during the work week when there are fewer tourists. So am hoping we’re able to sneak that in before school starts back up for him.

What Else Is New:

Hmm, I think I’ve covered everything. Hopefully very soon some of our home improvements will be completed. Am looking forward to a new spice cabinet! 

Bonus Question Favorite Part of Summer:

I have loved all of Miss J’s ‘firsts’. First swimming lessons. First frozen yogurt. First time playing in a sandbox, etc. Seeing summer through her eyes has truly been magical.

Whew, I’m exhausted! Time for more Garorade!

Leave a Reply

