What’s Up Wednesday

Good morning. Today I am linking up with ShaySheaffer and Mel for their monthly What’s Up Wednesday series.


What We’re Eating:

Monday we had brats, Tuesday pork chops, tonight ( Wednessay) we’re having meatloaf and as it is our dog’s 6th birthday she gets a piece too, Thursday is left overs and Friday we’ll go out to eat. 

What I’m Reminiscing about:

Julia turns two a week from today so I have been remembering my journey to the most important job of my life: mother.


What I’m loving:

Fall is now here in every sense of the word including crisp air. We have a fall bucket list in our fridge and I’m excited to check items off of the list.

What we’ve been up to:


Cooler weather means we can log lots of time at the play ground. It is so nice that Julia can now navigate some of the equipment without help. 

What I’m dreading:

Hmm, really nothing. Maybe shorter days? It can be discouraging when it is dark at 4:30 in the afternoon. But I tend to make the best of it by getting things really cozy with lit candles, soft warm blankets and lots of hot tea so it doesn’t seem so terrible.

What I’m working on:

Julia’s puppy party! So many details yet to lock down but I am enjoying every moment of party planning. 

What I’m excited about:

October first as I will incorporate some Halloween elements into my fall decor ( which has been up since September 1st). I love decorating for the holidays! 

What I’m watching/ reading:


I almost always have more than one book in progress and these two couldn’t be more different (insert a tears with laughter emoji)! The Sarah Vowell book is nonfiction about Lafayette’s role in the Revolutionary War. It is of course incredibly informative but Vowell  has a very light hearted writing style and manages to find kernels of humor in even the driest of topics so it is a surprisingly frothy read.  But NOT as frothy as humorist Amy Schumer’s book which I have just begun but am already squirming over– she is hilarious as always but my word is it graphic! I think I’ll be permanently blushing until I finish it. As far as watching– am all about This is Us– such a good show! 

What I’m listening to:

Julia and I cue up lots of YouTube videos on our TV and have dance parties. Like her momma, she enjoys They Might Be Giants’ 1990 album, Flood.

What I’m wearing:

Sweaters, jackets, scarves and boots! Hurray to fall! 

What I’m doing this weekend:

We’re going apple picking! It is one of my very favorite fall traditions so I am super excited. 

What I’m looking forward to next month:

My fall bucket list kicks into high gear in October. Activities include: hay ride at a pumpkin farm, cider pressing at my parents’ house, trick or treating and of course Julia’s birthday party. I love October!

What else is new:

Hmm, I have been marveling at how grown up my stepson has become. He is now in high school and has a part time job. It seems like a blink of an eye ago that he was a little boy. 

Bonus Question, fall recipe: 


Sorry for the poor picture quality. I love making  pumpkin chocolate chip cookies every fall– softest cookies ever!!!!!

Leave a Reply

