I’m back!

I did not intend to take such a lengthy hiatus from blogging. I have missed it! There is so much to catch up on including Miss J’s 2nd birthday. But that will have to wait until another day. Today I am going to discuss a subject in which I know practically nothing: professional baseball, specifically the Chicago Cubs.


My maternal grandfather died when I was about 18 months old so I only know him through family stories and one in frequent rotation was what a Cubs fan he was. He was born in 1911 so three years after the Cubs last won the World Series.  Their only appearance in the World Series during his lifetime was in 1945. He would have listened to those games on the radio in his living room perhaps with my mother who would have been about 20 months old playing at his feet. My Uncle Jerry wasn’t on the scene yet as he wasn’t born until 1951. Uncle Jerry grew up to be absolutely nuts about all sports both college and professional but a deeply special place in his heart was reserved for the Chicago Cubs. I do believe the best gift he ever received was when his children bought him a brick at his beloved Wrigly field. Sadly my Uncle did not live to see his Cubs make history over the weekend by making it into the Eorld series for the first time in 71 years as he passed away 3 years ago. Baseball profoundly bores me, however, in memory of the grandfather whom I never knew and the uncle whom I miss very much I will be watching the World Series for the very first time. Go Cubs! 

2 thoughts on “I’m back!

Leave a Reply

