Let’s Talk: Recipes

Today Andrea and Erika are hosting their monthly Let’s Talk link up. Today’s topic is recipes. Am always on the hunt for tried and true recipes especially seasonal ones so am eager to see what everyone shares. 


Little secret? Sometimes on a Monday morning after a fun weekend I transition to the rigors of my week with a fun treat. Today is no exception.


I made my favorite easy autumn dessert yesterday: pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. So today instead of my usual steel cut oatmeal with fresh fruit breakfast, I had a cookie with coffee and a good book. Hello Monday! 

Full disclosure I found this recipeonline  maybe 10 years ago. I wish I could link to the original source and give the baker a high five for creating a recipe that my pumpkin-disliking husband actually likes! But unfortunately although I have found mayn’t similar recipes, can’t definitively find ‘my recipe’.

Ingredients:

1 cup of canned pumpkin

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon milk

1 egg

1 tablespoon vanilla

*1 bag of chocolate chips (12 oz size) 

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Combine the pumpkin, sugar, vegetable oil and egg in a large bowl. In a separate bowl stir flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. In a small bowl or cup dissolve baking soda with milk. Add flour mixture to your bowl of pumpkin mixture. Add the baking soda/milk to bowl next.  Add vanilla, chocolate chips and nuts. Drop by spoonful onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. I generally then take them out of the oven and let them continue baking in the cookie sheet for a couple of minutes.

These cookies are truly a delight, so soft. My family looks forward to them all year round but my self-imposed rule is to only make them in October and November. 

*My family loves lots of ooey gooey chocolate so I go heavy on the chocolate chips! Could easily cut the amount in half and still have a delicious ‘diet’ version, haha!

I hope you enjoy these cookies as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

