Nuggets for the New Year: Me Time

Today I’m linking up with The Blended Blog for their Nuggets for the New Year series. Today’s topic is making time for yourself. As a stay at home mom with a two year old whose husband frequently works out of town for extended periods, I am probably NOT the one to be giving advice on this subject! Carving out time for myself is really hard. 


Support System:

When my daughter was not quite 3 months old I participated in my neighborhood cookie exchange. Baking 200 cookies on top of all my other holiday obligations seemed unappealing but I really wanted my daughter to grow up with a sense of community so that involved getting to know my neighbors. It was the very best thing I could have done as I met a woman who was about to give birth ( literally just a few days after the cookie exchange) and a woman who had a daughter six months older than mine. I developed strong friendships with both women and we all lean on each other a lot. We watch each other’s   children so if I want that alone trip to Target, I can take it. And we do lots of play dates which are also so good for us moms. Adult conversation, hurrah! 

Bathroom Time Is Never Questioned:


I suspect all moms utilize the bathroom under false pretenses at some point or another. If my husband is home and my child is being hyper, I just may have a lengthy ‘bathroom emergency’ which is actually me sitting in there reading magazines and soaking up the peace and quiet. 

Exercise:

It sounds counterintuitive, but a good work out gives me so much more energy to face my day. So during my daughter’s hour of TV time I do a 50 minute exercise video. I really like some of the Jillian Michaels workouts. 

This is definitely a topic that I need advice on so look forward to reading everyone’s posts. Hope everyone has a great week that involves some quality me time!

4 thoughts on “Nuggets for the New Year: Me Time

  1. I’m so guilty of hiding in the bathroom or dragging time out in there when I’m lacking on me time lol shhhhh I won’t tell if you don’t! I don’t feel that bad, I KNOW my husband does the same

    Like

Leave a Reply

