Tuesday Talk: Will I Ever Sleep Again!?!

Today I am linking up with Erika and Ashley For their Tuesday Talk series. It meets up every third Tuesday of the month as a forum to discuss any topic that moves you. 


Today as I spent the hours between 2 AM and 4 AM in my two and a half year old’s bedroom I thought I would discuss toddler sleep issues! Be prepared, I have no advice! 

I will be honest, for a LONG time I would cave and if she had a troubled night, would let her sleep with us. But it became a habit. And sleeping with us became the norm not the exception. Clearly that needed to change so for the last month, the rule has been she has to spend the whole night in her own room.  Some nights have been better than others. Typically if she wakes up it only takes a couple minutes for me to pacify her and get her back to sleep. But last night I would soothe her back into sleep, only to have her promptly wake back up. It was horrible and culminated in me, in a state of exhaustion falling asleep on the floor next to her toddler bed.

Of course she woke up this morning fresh as a daisy and ready to play! My first pot of coffee was still brewing and she was asking to go outside and play basketball! 

If any of you have gone through toddler sleep issues and are now on the other side, please share what worked for you. I could use the advice! Or if you’re going through anything similar, comment as well: would be nice to know I’m not the only one camped out in a child’s bedroom! 

XOXO Liz

Leave a Reply

